Love balls

IMG_3984

Just a few reasons why these love balls make for the perfect treat.

1) SUPER SIMPLE: These little guys take me no longer than 20 minutes to make. The last time I wanted something chocolatey I went to the store to pick me up a treat and by the time I got back I realized I could have easily just made a batch of these guys.

2) These yummy sweets are really NUTRITIOUS: All the ingredients are super clean. My favourite things about these bliss balls is that they go so perfectly with any superfood. You name it: goji berries, ginger, chia seeds, even cayenne pepper. So if your trying to find a way to get your daily dose of hemp hearts or even a greens powder in your daily diet, hide them in these bad boys ūüėČ

3)Most importantly, sooooo YUMMY: The one thing all my clients worry about is giving up their favourite foods, ¬†my reply is always the same. Never focus on removing anything from your diet, especially in the beginning. ¬†Make your #1 priority to focus on adding in all your new healthy habits first. When you’re ready, you’ll start “crowding out” naturally. At this point in time, you’ll want to ¬†find ¬†substitutions for all your weak spots. Mine always has been and always will be chocolate. For me these little love balls cut my cravings and keep me in line.

Ingredients:

2 cups raw almonds

3/4 cup raw cacao powder

6 dates, pitted

1/2 cup raisin (cranberries works nicely too)

1 Tbs coconut oil (optional)

1/4 cup filtered water

2-3 tbs honey

pinch of sea salt

Add ons: (Optional)

1 cup shredded organic unsweetened coconut, chia seeds, cayenne pepper, ginger, goji berries, hemp hearts, fish oils, pumpkin seed protein powder.

Grind almonds in small blender ( like magic bullet) or in food processor, the add cacao, dates, raisins, coconut oil and seasoning. Once everything in blended, add water to mixture and blend a little more.

Once everything is mixed, roll up your sleeves and start rolling some love balls. For a nice added touch roll them in some chia seeds for more nutrition and a nice crunch. I usually do half a batch this way and the other half rolled in  shredded coconut. Keep in fridge for at least 1 hour before serving to guest.

Perfect treat for clients during the holiday season.

IMG_3641

 

Leave a Reply

